Your Experience On Finasteride: Census

I just wondered what your personal experience was with Finasteride - How long have you been taking it? Have you noticed any changes, and after what period of time? Did you have a shedding phase? Side effects?

Hey joe101

I’m a newbie to fin got a supply from the good Dr A early april, beforehand i brought 3 months supply online that infact cost me more!

Basically havent noticed much of a change of yet or any sides thankfully. Just going to bear my time cross my fingers and hope to hold on to what i have!

I’ll repost in a few months with an update of where i’m at etc.

AAH

I’ve been on finasteride since late 2005. Within the first 3 months I noticed a decrease in my daily hair shedding. Since then I seem to have maintained my hair at pretty much the same density, although there may have been some minor thickening around the crown. I’m very pleased - without it, I was probably on the way to a very early NW3 or worse.

aah - I started on it roughly the same time as you, so it would be useful for us to compare I guess.

In fact I think it’s exactly a month for me - I’m certainly not expecting to see changes for a long time, if at all. My only hope is that I don’t have a shedding phase - that would really knock me.

Pondle - great to hear you’re pleased with the results, hope it continues

Yes mate be really good to compare views and progress.

I’ve been told to stick at least a year before judging anything, good luck with it all mate hope it all works out.

Here’s to april 09 :wink:

AAH

I`ve been on proscar/fin for 3 years with no sides.
I do experience shedding as some months my hair looks worse but i have had a bit of regrowth and it has definately stabilised my hairloss.

hairdresser today said she thought my crown looked thicker. smile.gif I didn’t prompt her or anything

maybe I can sum up the courage to get a mirror and look myself… fingers crossed

That is good news smile.gif

11 month update